THE UPS AND DOWNS OF WRITING…PT. I: THE BAD REVIEW

frustrated_writer
My first foray into the publishing scene has finally had its first bump………..
Yeah, you guessed it…….
I got a bad review of HILL OF GREAT DARKNESS!!!
Now, I don’t know about you all, but……..
I am loving every minute of it.
Yeah, I know…I’m just a little to the upside of insane
Translated that means positively crazy!
But, hey….after all…..
Not only am I a writer……………….
I am also a musician, public speaker, and a mover of mass amounts of chocolate; ONE BILLION pounds of it last year.
All that being said, one of my favorite things to do is to create.
I think I get that from my Father……
I mean, really…………………….
Here I am–a writer–a writer of Christian-based science fiction (Chri-fi), with my first book published.
Let’s take a look at what that means.
When I am old, wheezing out green slimy stuff from my nose and mouth, wondering if I will see tomorrow….
there is ONE THING I WILL NOT BE WONDERING ABOUT……….
“What if…”
What if I would have at least TRIED to put into written words the thoughts of a future time/place….(literally…my first manuscript for HOGD was over four hundred HAND WRITTEN pages long…no computer…interject “sigh” here).
What if I had a dream to fulfill by being published? Self published at that…meaning I was willing to invest in myself…
What if I succeeded?
What if I had failed?
ALL THIS WOULD HAVE NEVER MATTERED HAD I NOT AT LEAST TRIED!
So, back to the “bad review”.
As far as I am concerned, there is no such thing as a bad review.
Really.
I mean, come on now, another human being has read what I had labored over for six years and didn’t like it.
Cool. I will take away from his/her opinion and learn something from it.
Doesn’t matter if I disagree…………………..
In fact, it doesn’t even matter if I agree….
Bottom line =SOMEBODY READ MY BOOK.
And to add more depth here, let’s look at this;
For an unknown author I now have twenty-two reviews at Amazon and two or three at Barnes and Noble.
Of the ones at Amazon…
Nineteen are five-star reviews………..
Two are four star reviews………………..
One is a two-star review………………….
I’ve been looking at other unknowns and have found many listed for over ten years and have one or two reviews.
I consider myself blessed…
Not better, just blessed.
So, while I look at other writers lamenting over that ‘bad review’,
I just kick back and keep on writing,
smiling all the while knowing I am doing what I enjoy doing.
Will it sell?
Doesn’t matter!
I’m living the dream…besides,
you never know what tomorrow will bring.
And my Daddy is in charge of all my tomorrows…..
writing 4
Bottom line: if you want to be a writer, you have to write………
no matter what anyone else says.
Write on!

The adventure of a thousand lifetimes begins...

The adventure of a thousand lifetimes begins…

This entry was posted in Chri-Fi, Christian Science Fiction, painting with words, Science fiction, Self Publishing, Uncategorized, writing, Writing Insights and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

