Interview With H.C. Beckerr…Part II

IMG_0017

How does being a Christian writer influence your writing, your science fiction writing?
Oh, my…! It has everything to do with what I write as a follower of the Son of God! We believers know that sometimes the Lord helps us get through the hard times while, at other times, He shows up to help us get into more trouble. Trouble that always glorifies Him. That is what happens in HOGD. Staying true to our faith in the midst of ever mounting trials and tribulations.
You know, when I was writing the first draft for the story, telling people what I was up to, many of those people were amazed that someone would attempt such a feat. Many even told me it couldn’t be done. That’s like saying “AMEN!” while the preacher is preaching, giving him the fuel to continue, like saying “sick ’em” to an attack dog!
I wanted to show what real Christianity looks like, sounds like, smells like. How we often fail and fall AND how the Lord raises us up and gives us the strength to continue. The stories I write are about Him. He is the only One I concern myself with. That’s why you’ll never see the profanity or sex in one of my stories that you would typically see elsewhere in the genre. I like to think of what I do as the Christian branch of science fiction and call it; Chri-fi.

So, did you learn anything along the way as you wrote HOGD?
As a matter of fact, after the book went to print (POD), my wife told me to read a particular page, a specific paragraph. I was very familiar with that section and I read it several times and could not, for the life of me, find the error that she had found. She read the line to me and all I could do was laugh. The line was supposed to read; “…right under his very own feet…” but, to my amused horror, read; “right under very his feet” OOPS!!! That is when the Spirit of the Lord whispered to my heart; “How many times have you read portions of My Scripture and missed what I wanted you to see simply because you had read it so many times and thought you had gleaned all there was to harvest?” GULP!!!

For you personally, what is the best thing about being a writer?
I want to be able to share the Jesus of the Bible in new ways. To make people think about the claims of the Bible in new ways. To think outside the box. I have never, by any stretch of imagination, been considered ‘normal’. I want to be all that God has designed me to be and not worry about what others think. I don’t necessarily go by the rules, but I do go by the Book.
You know, the Gospel message truly transcends time, it is just as relevant today as it was two thousand years ago. People haven’t changed, the only difference is our technology. Our desires are the same, our toys are different. God hasn’t changed either. He still hates our sin and wants to save us from…( in a very real way) ourselves! In some way, I hope to be able to convey that simple message to whoever will listen. Or read.
Now, with all that being said, if I could say something to anyone struggling to ‘find’ themselves as a writer (or as anything else), I would simply say this; Be true to yourself, to your faith. Don’t try to please everybody. Try to please the Lord, He’s the One Who allows you to do what you want to do. All I hope…all I want to hear is “Well done, good and faithful servant.” Or, if I could steal (OOOPS!…I mean borrow) a line from the movie INDEPENDANCE DAY; “Not bad, not bad at all.”

mounds sunset plus 056MOUNDS 6.13.12 348MOUNDS 6.13.12 280

H.C. Beckerr is the author of HILL OF GREAT DARKNESS and he resides in the St. Louis area. Over the past ten years he has served as an interim pastor at a small Baptist church, an associate pastor, as well as a youth pastor in the St. Louis area, all the while working on his first novel and now putting the final touches on the long awaited sequel to HOGD; SHADOW OF TUNGUSKA
A love for the outdoors as well as a love for mystery and the unknown things of life was fostered in his early childhood by his many visits to an archeological site not far from his home known as Cahokia Mounds. This is where the idea for his Christian based Science Fiction novel was spawned, nurtured, and brought to life.
Being a man of faith and family, as well as having a love for his country, is at the epicenter of all that entails this simple mid-western man. He can be found on Facebook pages H.C. Beckerr, Henry Martin, and HILL OF GREAT DARKNESS as well as reached at hillofgreatdarkness@yahoo.com.
9781449717957_cover.indd

This entry was posted in Bible, Black Holes, Chri-Fi, Christian Science Fiction, Evangelizing, God, Hill of Great Darkness, Science fiction, Self Publishing, writing, Writing Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

