Of Skunks And Sin

skunks
There are good smells…………………………………………………..
AND……………………………………………………………………………………..
There are not-so-good-smells…………………………………………………………..
There are smells that hurt your eyes,
there are smells that make you cry.
There are smells that assault your nose,
there are smells that are really gross.
There are smells you can’t define…….
YES! Those smelly smells that make you whine.
There are smells in the dark and….
There are smells in the light.
There are those special smells that, well…you know…they’re just not right.
There are smells that really stink,
Oh, my goodness! They make you think……………….
Like the smell I smelled on one sunny day
striped skunkas I headed off to work, along my way
on the side of the road a poor skunk lay,
parts of him flatter than flat, I’m sorry to say.
But the stench that arose on that fair afternoon
would hover and hover and not go away soon.
One-day, two-day, three-day,
Four.
I still smelled that skunk that lay just out my door
as I flew by as quick as I could
through the pungent air;
I could not stop..oh, NO! I would not dare.
But that smell that arose still made me think,
of the sins in my life that had passed by like a wink.
I cringe and I cower and I cower and I cringe,
As I think of the Lord Who must smell all my sin.
He went to the cross to pay for my smell
and said “It is finished” with a whisper, not a yell.
My debt now is paid,
my smell swept away.
If only I were perfect,
but that’s just not the way….
For I always smell badly at the end of my day.
and I smell my stench from days before…
it follows me-follows me-
in and out the door.
So I give it to Jesus and He wipes it away,
And I wake up fresh as a daisy………………
to start a new day.

This entry was posted in Bible, failure, God, Jesus, skunks, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

