THIS DAY

God star
So, I’m thinking of You on this day. It’s not like I don’t think of You every day but….
This day is special.
This is the day we buy cards and presents…
we barbecue and eat…
and eat…
Some people sit around and drink…
and drink…
But…
I’m not in to that scene anymore and that’s because of You. It’s because of Your love.
The attention You have always paid to this littlest one. When I would fall…there You were to lift me up, dust the dirt from off my wobbly, scraped knees, and then tenderly You would wipe away my tears and send me on my way to my next adventure.
You always stood alongside me
cheering me on…
warning me when I was too close to danger.
Laughing when I did something incredibly silly and dumb and had to come to You with the old ‘I did it again’.
You were never too busy to teach me new things.
In fact, You were never too busy to stop whatever You were doing to come alongside and help me.
Hold me.
No matter what…You have always been there for me.
For as far back as I can remember…You have always been a part of my life.
So, I’m thinking of You on this day,
this Father’s Day
and I just want to thank You for the life You have given me…
this abundant life that never ceases to amaze me
challenge me
strengthen me
mold me
and yes, sometimes even frighten me.
This life that You gave me to live as I choose to live.
So, on this very special day
I want to give You a gift.
It’s funny, You know…
how the little ones all around the world buy gifts for their fathers…
with the money that their fathers had already given to them to use.
It’s not really that much different with me.
wrapped_present_box
So, on this Father’s Day
this very special day…
I want to give You a gift.
This life that I live…
This life You have given me to live as I choose….
I choose to give it to You.
To live as You want me to live.
To the Living God, the Holy One of Israel…
the Alpha and the Omega,
the Ancient of Days…
To my Creator, my Abba,
my Father in Heaven…
all I am is Yours

This entry was posted in America, Christianity, Fathers day, God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THIS DAY

  1. Mary Sayler says:

    Thank you, Henry, for this beautiful reminder to honor our Heavenly Father each Father’s Day and every day of the year. I highlighted your post on the Christian Poets & Writers blog to encourage other members of our FB group to see – http://christianpoetsandwriters.blogspot.com . God bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

