ALONG THE PATHWAYS OF LIFE: FORGIVEN FAILURES

highway on the edge
Have you ever failed at being the witness for Christ that you long to be? You know, getting caught off-guard, blindsided….how does it make you feel when you get that nagging notion that you let Jesus down…that you ‘crashed and burned’? Along the pathways of this life we will hit bumps.There is a lot of twisting and turning…not knowing what is around the next bend in the road. We will have incidents of clashing with our world and, dare I say it, clashing with the Kingdom of God.
It is inevitable and………………………………….
it can be painful.
BUT………………………………………………………………………..it doesn’t have to be!
Lion of Judah
So, all that being said, let’s look at an incident in my life from this past weekend. Many of those who know me are aware of the fact that I have been in the local entertainment industry for years. Ahem…okay, about three decades now (I started at two years of age…Hmmm…..I’ll repent of lying about my age to y’all later). So this weekend I worked for a local fundraiser hosting a trivia night. WHAT A BLAST!!!
For many years I owned and operated a mobile disc-jockey company and one of the rules I always followed was that I would never play a song that someone brought up to me at the soundstage unless I was familiar with it. Had one or two bad experiences there, let me tell you! So, that being said, here I was reading the questions ‘live’ that I had in my possesion for a good part of the week but failed to completely read each and every one of them before the night of the show.
There is where the problem lies.
It really is simple and some will say I am making much ado about nothing.
But to me…it was so much more than nothing.
Here is the trivia question about quotes; “O my God, they killed Kenny!”
Let’s be real here…I could care less about a cartoon character getting killed. Um….week after week…on South Park.
south park
(And no, I never have watched it)
So, imagine my surprise when faced with a dillema of faith and obedience in real-time with no ‘buffer-zone’. I, in my own heart, was about to use God’s name in an improper way. Honestly, I never use the name of God flagrantly and I really had no desire to do it at that very moment.
BUT…………………………………………………………………………………………….
Know what???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
Yeah, I’m sure you’ve all guessed by now that I read the question just as it was written.
Didn’t like it but, at the moment, I couldn’t think of a way out.
Actually…I did think of it but for some inexplicable reason, I chickened out.
I did not follow my heart.
And, in my eyes…I failed my Savior. Look, folks…we need to be ready “in season and out of season” to represent the King of kings.
But….
David failed, Soloman failed, Peter failed.
And so did Henry.
But we have all found forgiveness in the Cross of Jesus Christ!
I won’t be dwelling upon my failure…I will be learning from it!
I will be growing as a result of it!

By the way; how can we let Jesus down when we are not holding Him up in the first place?
For it is He, my friends, who holds us.
And will NEVER let us go.
LORD willing, see y’all next week.

This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Evangelizing, faith, Faithwalk, fear, God, growing up, Jesus, spirituality, Uncategorized, Writing Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

