CHRISTMAS PRESENCE

cold night
What a fun weekend!!! On Saturday, I had the oportunity to work with Angel Tree Prison Ministry down in part of my old stomping grounds. Now, if you know me you know that I like to write. And that I like to talk. In fact, I like to talk…A LOT!!!
AND….. I get the opportunity to do some really cool speaking engagements ranging from author’s meetings and workshops to preaching the gospel of Jesus to fundraising events to…well, you name it I’ve pretty much done it here in my neck of the woods (which would be the Mid-West).
But this past Saturday was special. I had the honor of telling people (young and not-so-young) about my life-changing event that I call A Close Encounter of the Jesus Kind.
Now, for those of you who are not familiar with this Angel Tree ministry, this is about children whose parent (or parents) have been incarcerated for one thing or another and are not able to be with their kiddos at Christmas time.PrisonCell1
There are a group of people who gather gifts for specific children and they put together a Christmas party for them. Pretty cool!
I was talking about my 22 years in the drug culture and my complete inability to break free from all those addictions. Telling about how it wasn’t a twelve step, ten step, or even a three step process to gain my independance but rather one simple step…straight into the arms of the One Who made me, loves me and died to reclaim me from the disease that infests all mankind.
People tend to get this all backwards….you see, we get sick from a bacteria or virus and then we start to do things like sneeze, cough, throw up, etc….we dont get sick because we are doing these things, we do these things because we’re sick.
Likewise, we are not sinners because we sin….we have a disease of the soul that causes us to desire to do the things that hurt God like lie, steal, you name it.
BECAUSE of the disease called sin in our soul…we do the things that prove we are sick.
Now….think with me a moment…
Suppose we get the flu; what do we do? WE GO TO THE DOCTOR TO GET THE MEDICINE TO MAKE US WELL!
Wouldn’t it be kinda dumb to go to the doctor, have him call in a prescription…..
And then not get the medicine we need simply because we don’t want to?

crossofcalvary

That is exactly what we are doing when we realize that we are sick inside and refuse to go to the only One who can heal us.
The only One Who walked out of the grave.
The world knows where Muhammed is buried………………………………………..
Where Buddha is buried……………………………………………………
So, where is Jesus?
He’s in my heart……………………………………………………
AND……………………………………………….
He’s alive and well and still in control of all things.
And He wants to heal you, too.
Ask Him to forgive you, to wash your sin away with the blood that He shed…
That’s what the cross is all about…………………………………………
Invite Him into your life, to live inside of you………………………………..
Ask Him to give you eternal life, starting RIGHT NOW.
That is what the empty tomb is all about.
Open up the greatest Christmas Present of all………………………………
Recieve His Christmas Presence……………………………………
It’s your choice…………………………………….
He already made His……………………..
And He’s crazy about you…….

This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Evangelizing, faith, God, Jesus, spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

