LOST IN HAWAII

Hawaiia sunrisen I always wanted to go to Hawaii but, my wife had no desire to go there…now, on the other hand….my wife always wanted to go on a cruise. Me? I thought that a cruise would be incredibly boring.
Until……………………………………………………………………………
We stumbled upon a cruise in Hawaii.
So, for our twentieth wedding anniversary we went on what turned out to be the most incredible vacation ever! Seven days aboard the Pride of America on a tour of four Hawaiian islands. Sailing every evening (all but one, that is) and arriving at a different island almost every day.
COOL!!!
And myself being a person that loves to talk about Jesus figured I would share the gospel. After all, who wouldn’t want to be a missionary in Hawaii???
I was all prayed up and ready to go!
And……..if that wasn’t enough, on one of the two connecting flights to the Island Paradise I read the following from
HOW TO WIN SOULS & INFLUENCE PEOPLE by Ray Comfort: “True Christianity is not a pleasure-cruiser on its way to Heaven, but a battleship stationed at the very gates of Hell!”
I.WAS.PUMPED.
Tracks 001
Until………………………………………………………………………..
I got there and realized a little known fact. The true Hawaiians, the ones born there for generations past…want little to do with Christianity.
I had loaded up with dozens of gospel tracts and NO ONE WANTED ONE! Every person very politely (by the way, native Hawaiians are some of the kindest, friendliest people you will EVER meet) said, “No, thank you.” This was a first for me.

Then about the third day we boarded a bus and went to see some volcanos. Cousin Larry was the driver and this native Hawaiian had the entire bus spellbound by his stories of life in Hawaii. I mean not a soul was talking but him!!! One thing that caught my attention was the history involving three different phases of missionary invasions on the Islands that ended up forcing the native culture to change.
THAT certainly shed a powerful light on my dilemma!
Anyway….back to cousin Larry. He continued telling all about the culture and the many gods of Hawaii and without missing a beat, while EVERYONE was soaking in his EVERY word, he adds ” But I know there is only ONE GOD and His name is JESUS CHRIST
I was blown away. He continued on his soliloquy without missing a beat and a little while later we were at the end of the tour.
We said our good-byes and headed off to another part of our adventure. But Larry had instilled a bit of wisdom in old Crazy H.
The next time I went to hand out a gospel tract and I immediately saw what the outcome was about to be, I smiled and added…”It’s okay, if you don’t want it you can make a paper airplane out of it and throw it at somebody!”
They laughed genuinely………………………………………………………
And they took the tract.
For the rest of our adventure in Paradise I used the same non-threatening style.
Many, many tracts were handed out in Hawaii.
You see, our job is to get the word of God out into the hands of the unsaved, the lost. That is seed planting.
The rest is up to the LORD.

This entry was posted in America, Christianity, Cruises, Evangelizing, failure, God, Hawaii, Hawaiian cruises, Jesus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to LOST IN HAWAII

Leave a Reply

