INTO THE SUNSET

Crimson_Cowboy As I write this blog, I’ve just finished watching a movie from 1959 entitled THESE THOUSAND HILLS, a western flick that has caused a stirring inside of me and I don’t know if I can quite put a finger on what it is…but it’s buggin’ me so I’m-a-gonna try.
Seems that, once upon a time here in America, right was right and wrong was, well….wrong.
Hmmmm……….
Maybe it’s just the fact that I was raised by my grandparents and I can still remember the stories told by them about another era. An era they heard about as children from their parents and grandparents.
An era of cowboys and horses instead of NASCAR drivers and horsepower. A time when only birds flew in the freindly skies.
A time when parents and children actually talked person to person in real time without any electronic toys.
A time when men were men and women were women and there was no confusing the gender line.
A time when politicians were…ah…..sorry….didn’t mean to go there……oops, my bad.
Ahem….where was I?
A time when a person’s word actually meant something…to you AND to them.
A time when you could hold up a Bible and say, THUS SAYS THE LORD…and people would, at least, listen.
A time when being an American was a good thing.
We weren’t hated as much back then.
Dare I even say it? There was a time when the world looked to us for answers…for help.
Now all they want is our money.
Or our demise……………………………………or both.
America, the Beautiful….oh, she’s still here. There’s just a lot more junk and trash in the mix now.
Remember when it was cool to want to grow up and be the President of the people, by the people, and for the people?
Now it seems to be more like a bad joke.
Nobody cares anymore.
At least, that’s what some would have us believe.
I, for one, don’t buy into that lie.
Here’s what I’m talkin’ ’bout;
When storms and tragedy strike anywhere here, the American people still strike back with all that we have.
Our time, our resources, even our very lives.
WHY?
Because we still care………..this is STILL America.
She is still the Beautiful One.
The Great Experiment.
The Land of the Free, and the Home of the Brave.
Me, personally?….I praise God that I was born in America….for such a time as this.
I thank Him EVERY DAY for the freedoms that I enjoy and (sadly enough) sometimes take for granted.
But, Wait! There’s more……………………………………….
This freedom is only a slight taste, a shadow if you will, of the freedom I have in Jesus Christ.
I have a dual citizenship, and I need no passport.
I’m ready to go home at any time, but as long as I am here………………………..
I’m still gonna sing love songs to my Savior.

And

I’m still gonna be singin’ America the Beautiful. I will still proudly stand when I hear the Star Spangled Banner.
And I will ALWAYS pray for America’s fighting men and women.

So, is it time for America’s final sunset?
I don’t know but, if it is……
This ol’ cowboy is gonna walk off into the sunset holding onto a nail-scarred hand.

This entry was posted in America, Bible, Christianity, Cowboys, God, Jesus, movies, patriotism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

