THE GROCERY LIST MENTALITY

Dianes Samsung up to 2-16-13 346 Remember the prayer that you learned as a child…the one you said as you got ready for bed, the famous; Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep? The sad thing is, there was a lot more theology in that child’s prayer than there is in many of our “I’m in a hurry and I have a lot to do” prayers of adulthood. Oh, don’t act so offended…I’m guilty of this same thing. I bet it sounds familiar too…………………………
“Lord, You know all things and I know that You love me. I just want to lift up my children and ask for their salvation. And I pray for our pastors, and our country. I ask that You would bless me and my family and that You would continue to watch over all those I love. Help us with our finances and please let our car last until it is paid for. I ask this in Jesus’ Name, Amen.”
At least we remember to mention the Name that’s above every other name.
We’ve simply forgotten to mention a few other things.
Like our salvation that cost us nothing………………..
Like all of creation that He holds in the palm of His hand………….
Like how He knows every single human being (past, present, and future) on the most intimate of levels….
Or how He orchestrates every day/hour/minute of human history…..
Or how He calls each star by name………………
Unfortunately we tend to focus on the here and now.
Not the hereafter and forevermore.
Or the One who Reigns Supreme.
The Ancient of Days.
The Fear of Jacob.
The Holy One of Israel.
He is too awesome to even comprehend and yet….
Every day and evening we bring to Him…..
Our shopping lists.
Please do this, please do that.
Please help with this and do away with that.
Sometimes there seems to be a disconnect between our spiritual self and our flesh. This body that we call home is only a rented apartment and our real home (that has been purchased for us) is elsewhere.
Our prayers seem to be focused more on Earth than on Heaven.
Or…(can we talk?) on Him.
The One Who bought us back from slavery.
Now, don’t get me wrong…..after all, we ARE His children. At least those of us who have accepted the free gift of eternal life through the shed blood of Jesus Christ, the Son of God.
AND…….
He DOES want to help us in our distress.
BUT………….
Let’s give Him the attention and glory that He deserves.
Worship Him in spirit and in truth!!!
Our Father, Who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy name. Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done on Earth as it is in heaven. NOW…..I can lay me down to sleep.
I love You, God of Israel
My only hope.

This entry was posted in Christianity, faith, Faithwalk, God, Jesus and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THE GROCERY LIST MENTALITY

  1. Forrest says:

    Good stuff bro Henry!

    Like

Leave a Reply

