ALIENS part 1…no, not the movie!

oz alien
Okay, STAR TREK Into Darkness has been out for a couple weeks and I have been doing my best to keep my mouth shut and not let anything slip out and spoil it for anyone…and THAT is not easy for me! I was blessed by the LORD (through a little company called esurance) with two free tickets to go where no man had gone before in digital 3D…on the Friday night just before my birthday (how cool is that?) for free. Yeah, I know I’ve already mentioned that they were free but…I like free…I like free a lot. A whole lot.
Now, where was I? Oh yeah…………………………………………………………………….
I have always been a Star Trek fan (never achieved ‘trekkie’ status…probably because I like BBQ Tribbles…) and I am really pleased thus far as to the direction the newest entries into the Star Trek world.
But, can we talk?
It’s just a movie. Well, it is Star Trek. But it’s not real. It’s an escape from everyday life…and sometimes we need that.
Oh,Yeah…speaking of escape…do you all (or Y’ALL for the fourteen Southern Baptists out there who actually read these blogs) remember a movie called Avatar? As the story goes (in real life…not the movie) there was a little bit of legal intrigue (supposedly) involving a person who wanted to sue the filmmaker because they wanted to go to the AVATAR planet and live there because it was so beautiful, and since they couldn’t (it’s not real…DUH!) they were now depressed because of this filmmakers vision; thus, the impending lawsuit. Really!
I gotta admit that when I heard that story a verse of Scripture popped into my head that says this; “Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, Nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.” (I Corinthians 2:9 NKJV)
For those of us who have seen Avatar, we can relate to the beauty but…lets think for a moment…that incredible feast of imaginative creativity was the result of a human. If we as humans can think of such environs, how much more can God do? AND, He can make it all real; not just special effects.
The God of the Bible Who measures the heavens (and yes, Captain Kirk, that WOULD include the Star Trek universe) in the span of His hand (Isaiah 40:12) and is infinite in His creativity, wants to make a place for each person who simply falls in love with Him. Jesus said “…I go to prepare a place for you” two thousand years ago. Now, if He made all of the universe in just six days, what do you think He could do in a couple thousand years?
So, movie fans…say it with me; “Sci-fi movies are fun, BUT…Jesus is better”
A whole lot better.
Live long and prosper?
Nope.
Live forever and reign. With Him.
Up next week we are going to look at life…out there…and the things that go bump in the (starry) night.

This entry was posted in Avatar, Bible, God, Jesus, movies, Science fiction, space, spirituality, Star Trek, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

