In the beginning…..

So, here I am writing my first blog for all the world to see…okay, for all of America to see. Well, maybe for all of Illinois to see. Alright! Maybe for three people in the St. Louis area to see (that’s right, you three people that I gave the five bucks to). It’s a start. It’s an oportunity to grow, to learn and to fail (probably a lot…does the term, CRASH AND BURN mean anything to you?).
As a writer and as a Christian, I have done a LOT of crashing and burning. I mean…we’re human, right? But we learn and grow from our failures. We mature in our faith and we blossom in our craft as we continue down this roadway of life. A roadway that is replete with hazards and dangers. A trail that has been blazed by men and women who believed that the world could be changed; one life at a time. Your life, and mine.
What I would like to do in this first post is to introduce myself to you. To tell you, briefly, how I have come to this point in life, this point in time. I grew up going every Sunday to Sunday School at a little country church that taught about the Bible and the God of creation. I accepted Jesus as my Savior at an early age and was then in church every time the doors were open. I wanted to go to Bible College and then be a missionary. However, by the time I reached the jr high level, I was starting to be ridiculed by my peers at church for being too ‘churchy’ or ‘phoney’. So, I started to hang out with people outside the church. That’s when my problems really began. I started getting into the drug culture one step at a time (as well as walking away from my faith one step at a time) and went down a twenty-two year side road that led me farther away from God with every breath I took.
BUT GOD (I love those two words! They’re in the Bible a lot, you know) had His hand on me the whole time. In 1995 I reached a point in my life where I was never happy whether I was stoned, drunk, sober, or any other combinantion you could think of. You see, I had placed another god between me and my Savior. The god of the almighty buzz. The real problem being that the One True God already lived inside me and He was getting tired of sharing my affections with something that was not good for one of His children.
It was the fall of ’95 in a dark, dirty warehouse when I cried out to the Jesus of the Bible and asked for His help. Guess what? He took away a twenty-two year drug addiction overnight! Now, I live for Him. Now, I write for Him.
These are the voyages of the starship E…oops! Sorry, got carried away there…um, these are my voyages. And they can be our voyages. I want to start sharing how we can live our lives for the One Who made us. For the One Who has bought us back. I’m gonna try posting at least once a week. I hope that we will be able to laugh, cry, think, smile, together as we start travelling down a new road together. The road that leads to the One Who has the nail-scarred hands.
In the eyes of this old world, following the Jesus…the God of the Bible…is sheer insanity. I want to grow insanely in love with my Savior. Anybody else care to join in on the adventure?
That adventure begins today, and never ends. How cool is that?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In the beginning…..

  1. Jennine says:

    God is so good 🙂 I’m looking forward to following your blog! Keep it up!

    Like

  2. angkin13 says:

    Good for you, Henry! 🙂 I will look forward to your future posts!

    Like

  3. Susie says:

    It is sooo cool!!!

    Like

  4. Dorothy says:

    You’re life is a testimony beyond all doubt. The fact that’s its intertwined with mine is an honor. Looking forward to reading more from you. You’d be surprised what I’ve learned about my brother that I never knew. You make so many people smile but above all that, I think you make your Savior smile too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

